top of page
Search
Writer's picturePitch it Camping Club

Vango Velan Boot - Our Review

Updated: Jan 31, 2020


I was introduced to these walking boots during 2019 but didn’t commit to actually buying until January 2020, these boots are recommended by the Duke of Edinburgh Award, just like my Vango Grivola boot.

I was looking for something waterproof, comfortable and something with a good grip was a must! Previously to obtaining my Vango boots I wore comfortable trainers to go camping in, the only issue was the dew on the grass first thing on a morning, even in the summer this got my feet really wet due to walking through the campsite grass. I also Wanted something that was light-weight on my feet, and something that didn’t look too big, as some boots look huge. Not these, they are compact to the foot and look good, so that was the first thing I was happy with! 

The upper of this boot looks pretty good as you will agree. The boot is higher than a traditional mid boot, but this makes me feel more supported and comfortable. The boot has what Vango call a protex fabric which they claim is fully waterproof, we will put that theory to the test!

Sole & Grip

The sole is really thick rubber and they seem to have some form of strengthener inside the sole just like my previous Grivola boots, they bend well to the foot but not too much as to cause rubbing to the skin. The grip on this boot is deep cut and may i say is very effectiveThey were especially effective on harsh, uneven ground and sloping slippery ground and therefore perfect for the hiker. 

Camping & Walking 

I decided to take these Vango Velan boots on local walks and i have now used them for several woodland and countryside walks too, and I have to genuinely say that these Velan boots are extremely comfortable and supportive.

The first test had to be the waterproofing for me, and these boots didn’t disappoint!

l took them through wet grass at boot height, large puddles of water and wet leaves and mud, and my feet remained dry and warm.

The next important feature was the grip, this didn’t let me down at all, the grip is absolutely amazing and I feel we’re actually better than my Agricola boots (which I didn’t think could be bettered), we found ourselves walking steep wet grass slopes on the and over wet mossy covered rocks and I encountered no slippage whatsoever! I have a pair of Royal Navy issue boots and these Velan equal them in terms of grip!, this is a bold statement but true! 

Comfort?

These boots seem to have a very good quality thick insole and quite spongy inside, the insole is very soft and springy and your heel seems to sink into them and rebound. I have worn these boots for many hours and due to how supportive they are, my feet have never ached or hurt, and based on the terrain we have encountered I assumed my feet would be sore, this has never been the case at all. Top marks for comfort. 


Quality & Value for money?I have to say, these boots are very well made, they feel secure and strong, but at the same time flexible. The waterproofed breathable upper is amazing, keeping my feet dry even when submerged in water. The sole grip is second to none also, i was actually surprised how good the grip was for a walking boot for this money. The overall boot is of very good quality indeed. There are other boots out there from other outdoor suppliers that are also good, however not all of them tick all the boxes in terms of functionality and comfort - take it from us these Velan do not disappoint. My only negative is the fact that I would have preferred them in black, however I think they are only available in two -tone grey or brown. 

Our verdict

Giving an independent opinion on these boots, I would say yes we would recommend this boot for its great performance based on traction and grip, comfort, waterproof and breath-ability of the boot upper and not forgetting the great price point of around £65. This boot equals if not betters many boots from other manufacturers in this price range. 

A worthwhile investment!

RECOMMENDED BUY ✅ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️



495 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page